Vedic Views

These views are used in Vedic astrology. See the General Views page for views that are shared between Vedic and western astrology.

Vedic Chart View

The Vedic chart shows a graphical representation of all supported Vargas including the Bhava chart. See the pages Vargas (Divisions) resp. House Systems for details.

The chart is displayed either in South, North and East Indian style.This option and many others can be changed in the Configuration: Vedic Astrology/Vedic Chart dialog.

Several calculation options (e.g. Hora, Drekkana mode, friends, Varga signification) can be configure in the Configuration: Vedic Astrology/Vedic Calculation dialog.


Each Varga chart has its own keyboard shortcut for startup (e.g. Rasi=1), see the Shortcuts page.

Mouse actions

Context Menu

Several style options can be changed with the context menu (Mouse button 2). These changes take only effect on the current chart. Permanent changes can be made in the config dialog.

Display of Planets

Planets and other objects can be show either as symbol or with their name. This can be configured in the User Interface Configuration/Planets and Signs dialog.


Aspects can be shown with the shortcuts described above. Aspect types are either Graha or Rasi drishti. See the Drishtis (Aspects) page for more information.

Fields under the mouse pointer can be zoomed or highlighted, this can be changed in the config dialog.

Other Display Options

Several options are available.

Varga View

This view contains the aggregated information about the Vargas of a radix horoscope.

See the Vargas (Divisions) page in the Articles section.

Sarvatobhadra View

Sarvatobhadra is a Nakshatra based technique of ancient Vedic astrology. Astrological information can be found on the Sarvatobhadra page in the articles section.

Semantic of SBC is similar to Varga chart (replace Rasi by Nakshatra) and therefore the view works similar.

The display options are similar to the default Vedic chart view, see above.

Additional Options for SBC

Special fields are marked in yellow. Birth Nakshatra, Rasi of Lagna and weekday of birth are marked by default. Markup can be toggled with mouse click.

Vedhas can be shown similar to aspects in Vedic Varga charts. Benefic (B) and malefic (M) property of Nakshatras (depend on the Moon) can be toggled in the the Configuration: Vedic Astrology/Vedic Chart dialog.

Dasa Views

Dasas are the most important tool for timing of events in Vedic astrology. Astrological details can be found on the Nakshatra Dasas resp. Kalachakra Dasa pages.

Supported Dasas

The Dasas are divided into three groups.

First Group: Standard Dasas

The Standard Dasas are

The calculation of Vimsottari and Yogini Dasa follows the well known rules.

There are several configuration options for Kalachakra Dasa, see the sections Kalachakra Dasa and Configuration: Vedic Astrology/Vedic Calculation.

Second Group: Conditional Dasas

These Dasas are described by Parasara. Conditional Dasas only apply to certain charts.

The Dasas are

  1. Ashtottari Dasa
  2. Shodshottari Dasa
  3. Dvadashottari Dasa
  4. Panchottari Dasa
  5. Shatabdika Dasa
  6. Chaturashiti Sama Dasa
  7. Dvisaptati Sama Dasa
  8. Shat Trimshat Sama Dasa

Third Group: Special Dasas

The 3rd group contains Lagna Vimsottari Dasa: it is like Vimsottari, but based upon the position of the Ascendant instead of the Moon.

Remark: Lagna Vimsottari calculation is always done according to the length method.

Calculation Options

Nakshatra Dasa can be calculated in 2 different modes This behaviour can be configured in the Configuration: Vedic Astrology/Vedic Calculation tab of the configuration dialog.

View Types

First Type: Tree

There a two types of Dasa tree views
  1. Tree only, shortcut "D"
  2. Tree with text view ("Ctrl+D"). The text view contains the corresponding slokas from the classic scriptures, e.g. Parasara Hora Shastra or Jataka Parijata.
In tree views each Dasa has a root item which can be expanded up to arbitrary levels. So you can see Dasas, Antardasas (Bhuktis), Pratyantardasas, Sookshmantardasas, Pranadasas, etc. in a single view.

Entry Chart Action: The entry chart button is activated if a Dasa is selected in the tree view. You may click the button to create a new chart based upon the underlying entry time.

Second Type: Graphical

The graphical Dasa view appeared for the first time in release 4.0.

Supported mouse actions are
Goal of the window is to get a simultaneous view of multiple Dasas at the same time. This view may help to see the synchronized effects of multiple Dasas.

Remark: default colors are implemented according to Jataka Parijata II 21/23. They can be changed in the User Interface Configuration/Colors Panel.

Third Type: Text

These view types give a text based representation of Dasas. The Dasa type (Vimsottari etc.) can be chosen in the choice box of the toolbar.

There are three kinds of text output

  1. Short: one line per Mahadasa, Anatadasas are shown in one line.
  2. Compact: all Dasas in a single table. Current Pratyantardasas are shown in the last column.
  3. Long: Each Antardasa is shown in a separate table.

Yoga View

Yogas are combinations of astrological objects, the name is frequently used in Vedic astrology. There are simple Yogas (e.g. position of Ascendant in a sign) and quite complex ones dealing with many objects and restrictive conditions.

Special Types of Yogas

Some hints for interpreting Yogas:

Nabahasa Yogas are quite important. Each chart has a ruling Nabhasa Yoga determining the conditions of the person's life. The ruling Yoga is always the most complex one (if more than one Yoga matches).

Example: someone has all planets in houses 7, 8, 9 and 10, Sakti Yoga (all planets in 4 continous houses from th 7th) matches as well as Kedara (all planets in 4 signs). The ruling Yoga is Sakti.

Lunar Yogas: the Moon is the most important ruler of the mind. So Lunar Yogas give the hint for general mental disposition of the person.

Mixed results mostly show their effect during the corresponding Dasas. So Yogas have a static view on the person's life; Dasas can tell us the time of the events.

Yoga View

Attributes of Yogas are

Varga Choice: determines which Varga chart to use for evaluation of the matching condition. Effects apply to that chart (e.g. Saptamamsa to children).

Nakshatra based Yogas can only match in Rasi chart.

Yoga Editor

This tool can be used for manual editing of Yoga conditions and interpretations.

Ashtakavarga View

See the Ashtakavarga page in the Articles section.

Shadbala View

See the Shadbala pages in the Articles section.