Dasa Views

Dasas are the most important tool for timing of events in Vedic astrology.

This page contains only general information about the use of the Dasas in Maitreya. Astrological details can be found in the Nakshatra Dasas resp. Kalachakra Dasa pages.

View Types

There are several different view types for Dasas.

First Type: Tree View

Every Dasa has a root item which can be expanded up to arbitrary levels. So you can see Dasas, Antardasas (Bhuktis), Pratyantardasas, Sookshmantardasas, Pranadasas, etc. in a single view.

Entry Chart Action: The entry chart button is activated if a Dasa is selected in the tree view. You may click the button to create a new chart based upon the underlying entry time.

Second Type: Graphical View

The graphical Dasa view appeared for the first time in release 4.0.

Goal of the window is to get a simultaneous view of multiple Dasas at the same time. This view may help to see the synchronized effects of multiple Dasas.

Remark: default colors are implemented according to Jataka Parijata II 21/23.

Third Type: Text Views

These view types give a text based representation of Dasas. The Dasa type (Vimsottari etc.) can be chosen in the choice box of the toolbar.

There are three kinds of text output

  1. Short: one line per Mahadasa, Anatadasas are shown in one line.
  2. Compact: all Dasas in a single table. Current Pratyantardasas are shown in the last column.
  3. Long: Each Antardasa is shown in a separate table.
Remark: text output can be stored in a file: right click the text output and select the command SaveText as .... The output format will be either HTML (.html), plain text (.txt) or csv (.csv), depending on the file name's extension.

Supported Dasas

The Dasas are divided into three groups.

First Group: Standard Dasas

The Standard Dasas are

The calculation of Vimsottari and Yogini Dasa follows the well known rules.

There are several configuration options for Kalachakra Dasa, see the sections Kalachakra Dasa and Configure Vedic Calculation tab.

Second Group: Conditional Dasas

These Dasas are described by Parasara. Conditional Dasas apply only to certain charts.

The Dasas are

  1. Ashtottari Dasa
  2. Shodshottari Dasa
  3. Dvadashottari Dasa
  4. Panchottari Dasa
  5. Shatabdika Dasa
  6. Chaturashiti Sama Dasa
  7. Dvisaptati Sama Dasa
  8. Shat Trimshat Sama Dasa

Third Group: Special Dasas

The 3rd group contains Lagna Vimsottari Dasa: it is like Vimsottari, but based upon the position of the Ascendant instead of the Moon.

Remark: Lagna Vimsottari calculation is always done according to the length method.

Calculation Options

Nakshatra Dasa can be calculated in 2 different modes This behaviour can be configured in the Configure Vedic Calculation tab of the configuration dialog.